Cooking at Home

I’ve found myself over the last year and a half since being diagnosed, relying on food a lot more as an energy source. After seeing a nutritionist, it was clear that my body needs all kinds of vitamins, minerals and good food to get it through the day, keep my mind alert and not have massive spikes in energy (eg hypoglycemia).
As I’ve mentioned on ‘My Journey‘ post, I can no longer tolerate these foods:

  • Dairy (small amounts of hard cheese is ok, gotta get some calcium!)
  • Soy is becoming an increasing issue (soy milk, soy sauce)
  • Sugar
  • Quinoa
  • Egg
  • Large amounts of grain eg GF bread, GF pastries, pasta. Heavy carbs seem to weigh me down a lot!
  • Spring onion
  • Banana’s
  • Oats and Gluten (obviously)

If you look at the list, you’d think what on earth is there left to eat… so I’ve put down a few of my favourite recipes below. I’ve taken to having 1 sunday a month as a massive cooking day and freezing meals, so I don’t get stuck without food and no energy to cook.
One other thing I’ve introduced is protein shakes (made from pea protein so it’s dairy and gluten free), Vitamin D, nuts and other healthy fats like avocado.

Most of the meals are structured so that there is:

  • A protein source (fish, chicken, lentils and legumes, protein powder)
  • 3-4 vegetables (alkaline rich one’s like broccoli, spinach, kale, avocado)
  • A meat (not too much red meat)

Breakfast

I tend to have either a smoothie, nut & seed mix or a cooked breaky.

Smoothie:
In a blender add avocado, apple, linseed, chia seed, 2 tbls cinnamon, almond milk or  protein powder (optional, also masks the taste if it’s in the smoothie), honey, ice. You can add banana instead of apple for extra thickness.

Seed & Nut mix:
Combine linseed, pumpkin seed, chia seed, pepitas, slithered almond, coconut (and any other seed you’d like). Pour boiling water over the mix so it’s just covered, let stand of 5 mins and add some fruit like apple, berries to sweeten it up.
This mix is also meant to be great for PMS cramps and endometriosis side effects.

Cooked breaky:
Add in whatever veggies you have to the fry pan with some bacon. I usually go with a mix of mushroom, tomato, eggplant – fry some bacon and serve it on top of spinach. If you can eat eggs, add one of these too. It’s a filling and warm way to start the day!

Lunch

Lunch is always best pre-prepared and if you can’t do that, grab a freezer meal. My lunch and dinners are pretty similar, I’m huge on cooked lunches now or one’s that incorporate a meat. I steer clear of breads and usually have a bowl, salad, left over dinner, curry, soup or pattie.

  • Bowl: this is usually a mix of what I have – similar to bimbimbap or a burrito bowl. You just add veggies (cabbage, broccoli, rocket, avocado), pickled items like sauerkraut, tuna/chicken/read meat, roasted pumpkin and a dressing like olive oil & mustard seed/ balsamic vinegar/ lemon juice. You could add rice noodles, brown rice or mashed potato/sweet potato for a base too. It’s all about being creative when it comes to bowls – Pintrest always has lots of inspiration!
  • Salad – my go to salads are a Nicoise with either salmon or tuna, Chicken salad with mango and cashews or a thai beef salad.
  • Curry – there is endless choice with curries! If you want to get really into, I’d start making your own pastes with spices so you know the good stuff (like turmeric & ginger) and can make sure it’s always added.
  • Pattie – thai chicken pattie, salmon pattie, lamb kofta, beef burgers
  • Chicken soup or pho – just add a chicken breast, bay leaf, peppercorns, carrot, celery and water to a pot and boil for an hour. You can add rice noodles or other vegies or beans to make it more hearty. To make pho, add star annise, corriander seeds, soy sauce, fish sauce, lemon juice and rice noodles.

Dinner

By this stage of the day I’m pretty over thinking about food and what to make… It’s usually pretty similar to lunch and I try to make extra for the next day. Here are some suggestions:

  • Fish or meat on the bbq or fry pan with veggies
  • Curry
  • Risotto
  • Chicken Rice
  • Bolognese
  • Tacos (soft shell)
  • Burger with lettuce cups
  • Roasted veggies (pumpkin, potato, parsnip)
  • Shakshuka
  • Stuff veggies (bell pepper, zucchini) with meat and rice
  • Pad thai
  • Satay chicken, tandoori chicken, ticka masala
  • Sushi
  • The possibilities are endless!!!

Afternoon tea & morning break

I usually have nuts on hand all the time, fruit, lactose free yogurt, tuna, rice cakes & avo…

Good luck and feel free to send me any of your favourite or go to recipes!

Here’s my favourite go-to homemade Pho recipe – it’s a bowl full of goodness and always settles my stomach:

Poach a chicken breast in water with carrots, celery, star anise, cloves and coriander seed. When the chicken is cooked, take it out and remove the veggies (they will be too mushy but you can keep them in if you like veggies like that). Add in chopped carrot, broccoli, onion, any veggie really and allow it to simmer. Add soy sauce, fish sauce and lemon (about a tablespoon of each). Add the rice noodles and cook then add in the poached chicken to finish. It takes around an hour but I make a batch of the broth and leave it in the freezer so when I feel like it, I just add noodle and veggies…. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

