Byron Bay

I love going to Byron Bay. I’ve been going twice yearly for the last 8 years & I can’t get enough. It’s always been the case up there, that cafes and restaurant owners are into healthier foods which makes it easy when you’re a coeliac.
This trip, I headed up for Bluesfest. It was my first festival since being diagnosed and so I was pretty excited (to be out and dancing) but also very nervous about what I’d find for dinner.
I did the rounds of this huuuge festival and came across a japanese stall. They had a GF option of silken tofu on rice cooked in a separate fryer & battered in potato starch with a delicious sauce.

At the Saturday foreshore market I had the sushi and the best jacket potato with home made basil pesto, sour cream, salsa and raw beetroot.
Top Shop Cafe is just around the corner and I’ve always loved their acai bowl – this time I asked for no granola on top which unfortunately lost the yummy crunchy parts but I still enjoyed the fresh banana and strawberries throughout.
The Shop in South Golden Beach has delicious home made salads and they’re very knowledgable about GF (they have an amazing GF brownie).

Harvest Cafe in Newrybar is stunning. Tucked away in a little village in the hinterlands, we went there for dinner. Most of their menu was GF or could be adapted. I had ceviche, steak and a violet crumble icecream dessert.

On our last night we headed to The Tree House for pizza. Sadly, they’d run out of GF bases. There are a number of GF items on their menu and they said they could prepare food in a separate area. We decided to move on and have some tacos from Miss Margarita.
Miss Margarita make delicious margaritas and have corn tortillas as well as flour ones. The tacos are amazing!

Did I get sick: Not once for the 7 days in Byron Bay

This trip I went to:

Kinoko – a japanese sushi train which was all gluten free except for the tempura. Oooh so great!
Fishmongers – gluten free chips and calamari… all these things that are hard to find in Melbourne are normal up here!
The Cardomon Pod is my new favourite place. It’s vegetarian and mainly gluten free with hearty meals like dahl, curries, veggies and rice. So cheap too!

Leave a Reply

